It is believed that there is a negative impact of tourism on tourist spots which is majorly due to the behaviour of people who visit there. Why do you think that people behave badly when they visit some places? What measures can be taken to resolve this issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world today has transformed into a global village. People travel around freely due to easy access to travel opportunities. Although tourism has given a major boost to many economies, it has also caused a number of problems due to the irresponsible behaviour of tourists. Consequently, checking the behaviour of tourists has become a prime duty of authorities. Most people feel that vacations are a time for letting their hair down. They get carried away under the influence of alcohol and engage in hooliganism. They also litter places and damage public property because they do not consider those places their homes. Moreover, they do not behave in accordance with the traditions and culture of the place which impacts the indigenous customs of the locals. Therefore, accelerated tourism has become a cause of concern and governments are forced to reiterate the significance of good civic sense. Undeniably, tourism is a great source of income and employment for many. But this boom has also led to increased pollution which has a detrimental impact on the environment. Furthermore, travel mania has led to an ever-rising pressure on the available resources. As a result, there is an increase in prices due to which the locals suffer. To conclude, it can be said that there are a number of advantages of tourism but governments should set strict rules and regulations and ensure that they are followed. They could set up boards and hoardings at tourist spots reminding the visitors to follow appropriate behaviour urging them to preserve the glory of the sites for future generations.