The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Someone believe that certain products achieve high sales because of powerful advertisements, however, it is argued whether they can be considered the real demands of society. As far as I am concerned, I strongly agree with this statement that the public would be led to buy something with the effects of ads. On the one hand, it is reasonable that people purchase commodities based on their financial situation and demands. Because not everyone is affordable to buy many products that they do not need. Take my personal experience as an example. When I plan to buy a dress or something else, I would always search for the same item on different websites like Amazon, Taobao, and KrisShop, to make sure that I buy it at the lowest price. Moreover, there are many products witnessing upward sales without advertising, such as Zara and Starbucks that people can hardly find on television. On the other hand, advertisements play a significant role in influencing public preferences and then result in the public being more likely to consume something unpractical. Firstly, those brands pay celebrities to promote their products. For instance, a k-pop idol who has a large number of female followers endorses a type of perfume for men, and then the fans buy this product to support the idol’s career, even though it is not suitable for them or they would never use it in their daily lives. Secondly, there is a common phenomenon that advertisements help to create consumerism. As the result, people are always driven by the herd mentality without deeply thinking, and sales of these products considerably grow. In conclusion, I believe that by the impacts of celebrities and the herd mentality of society, advertisements can, more or less, lead the public to purchase something they do not need, and finally contribute to the growth of sales.