These days many families move abroad for work. Some people believe that this benefits the children in these families. Others believe that it makes their lives more difficult. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, a lot of people work in other countries. Some of them are for immigration purposes whereas others are just staying there temporarily to earn a higher salary. Many of these people bring their kids with them, and it arouses some discussions on whether the move is beneficial to the children. First and foremost, we need to separate between the immigration-driven cases and temporary work. In the cases of the former ones, the quality of the education system is usually, if not always, one of the most important considerations of the parents. In such cases, children go to schools with less pressure on homework and a lower student-to-teacher ratio. They may experience an education system which focuses more on creativity rather than knowledge memorizing, and this would normally make children happier. For example, a friend of mine went to Canada when she was a teenager, she had a good time there and her whole family did not regret the immigration decision after all these years. On the other hand, if higher remuneration is the predominant driving factor in moving, education is not necessarily the main concern and the kids may need to adapt to worse education quality. Then, we can imagine the contrary of all of the aforementioned may happen. For example, countries in the Middle East pay a high remuneration to foreign construction workers, but you can imagine that children would be difficult to adjust to the education system there. In both immigration and work permit cases, there is still a laundry list of other challenges. Difficulties to master another language and to adapt to cultural differences such as food, social norms and religion are the most common ones. Consequently, children may not be able to make friends. Worst still, some of them may even face discrimination or be bullied. In conclusion, while in some cases children can react positively to cultural changes and alike in a new environment, they are likely to face a raft of challenges ahead. In my opinion, whether they can adapt well really depends on how young they move and their own personality, and it is very hard to make a generalization on these.