Educating young people is naturally important. However,some think governments ought to invest more in education for adults in need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most countries recognize the importance of educating young people. But rarely do they consider providing education for underprivileged adults. In my view, meeting the educational needs of adults from poor backgrounds is as important as youth education. To start, some might suggest that it is a waste of resources to invest in educating poor adults. This is because most adults have major responsibilities like making a living and providing for their family as well as themselves. Receiving educational training on the side is simply not an option for these people unless they are free of those duties. Even worse, they sometimes quit halfway when faced with the difficulty of balancing their adult life with this new challenge, which means government investment is wasted. It is also argued that adults ’ learning capabilities are not as sharp as they used to be, so there is no guarantee that educational training will be of any help to them. Nevertheless, I believe government investment in needy adults education can benefit them in several ways. Education helps these adults to turn their lives around. With some basic training, these adults become more employable, hence are likely to earn a better livelihood. In this sense, government’s investment in educating people other than youngsters will help curb poverty. Educating adults also makes them better parents. It is true that parents with a decent education tend to make better decisions for their children in terms of education, health, diet and ultimately, career. After all, informed adults make for more able caregivers. In conclusion, despite the arguments presented against channeling more funds towards educating adults from disadvantaged backgrounds, I would argue that it is necessary as it helps them improve their lives as well as their children.