What are the advantages and disadvantages of a CCTV camera in public places?

CCTV cameras are installed in open spaces to help cover the activities that go on in such areas. The merits of these camcorders in public places include real-time coverage, investigative and security purposes. The heavy reliance on electricity to operate is one of the demerits of these camcorders. Firstly, the real-time coverage of the activities in a public space is one of the major advantages of CCTV. That is, the actions and behaviours of persons can be seen as they occur. Hence, it does not give room for manipulation. Secondly, it enhances the safety of the people in these places as they will naturally want to behave in an acceptable way since they are being recorded. Subsequently, this helps in the investigation of crime. In, that when a crime takes place in an open area, the videos can be referred to in order to get the perpetrators. For example, the perpetrators of the bombing in a tertiary institution in Lagos State were brought to book because their faces were seen in the videos from the cameras installed. The first disadvantage of the installation of these camcorders is that the behaviour of the crowd in those areas is unreal as they will not want to appear unkind should the video be referred to. Also, these cameras require electricity to operate. Therefore, without power, it cannot function, for the same reason, the purpose for its installation is forfeited. For instance, the robbers who attacked the city mall in Ikeja were successful as there was no power at the time of the robbery, thus, their activities were not recorded. In conclusion, real-time coverage of occurrences, aiding of security and investigation of crimes are the benefits of CCTV installation. The demerits are the need for electricity to operate and the make-believe actions people display when they know they are being watched.