Many sports players advertise sport-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

With the popularity of sports celebrities, sports goods companies are now inclined to promote their products through sports players. Although this trend has many pros in terms of tremendous increase in the sale of such products and a good source of income for sports players, it has numerous cons in the form of promotion of low quality products and high price. To begin with, since the main aim of sports product manufacturers is to increase their sales, the market value of sports players is used by such companies for this. To cite an example, a painstaking survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March, 2015 clearly revealed that there was a 35% increase in the sales that had been observed by sports goods suppliers because the brand ambassadors of their products were renewed sports icons. To explain, as these sports celebrities have many followers, such followers often purchase their promoted products and this certainly gives financial benefits to the related companies. In addition, sports players get a huge amount from these companies which they may use for themselves and for society as well. On the other side, such a phenomenon can be harmful for people because such companies can supply low quality products in the name of famous sports players. To illustrate, in an article published in The New York Times, while checking the standards of sports products in the USA, 13 major companies had been closed due to low standards of their products and all these companies were promoted by big sports personalities. Hence, because of busy schedules, sports players may not check the quality of the products for promotion or companies provide false information to them. Resultantly, people who purchase such products may observe problems as well as accidents. Moreover, when companies hire big sports stars to promote their products, they demand a huge amount of money which ultimately increases the price of products. To conclude, due to increased influence of sports icons in society, sports products manufacturers are rapidly interested in appointing sports players for the promotion of their products. It is unequivocal that such an approach is good for companies and players but not good for customers as discussed above.