New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is obvious that children nowadays spend their leisure time differently from in the past because of technological development. In my opinion, though this change brings pros and cons, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On one hand, new technologies provide a wide range of entertainment sources which satisfied all children ’s interests. There are various types of online games available whose designs are attractive and interesting. Besides, children are able to enjoy music videos, cartoons and comic books on free popular platforms such as Youtube or Discord. Furthermore, the fact that almost all of these technologies are easily accessible is undeniable. Kids are allowed to use smartphones or computers connecting to the internet in their own house, by which they are capable of accessing to entertainment technologies at any time without any payments. On the other hand, technologies isolate children from their real life. Even though children seem to connect with friends 24/7 despite long distances, technologies nearly eliminate time spent face–to–face with real ones. Children spend enormous time chatting on virtual environments such as messenger, Twitter or Instagram rather than having conversations and sensing authentic emotions through friends’ voices or facial expressions. Being at one with nature is also an extraordinary experience many people miss out on during childhood due to new technologies. Remarkably, recent technologies are developing at such a brisk pace that parents could not keep track of. It is inevitable for kids to be exposed to harmful content including violence or inadequate behaviour. In conclusion, while the advantages of technology in human life are great, we could not refuse their huge negative impacts on children.