Every year several languages die out. Some people think this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Language is one of the essential factors of communication; however, some languages are left out every year. Some people believe that our lives would be easier if the availability of languages in our world is not too many due to them being unimportant. There are many ways to counter those thoughts, and this essay will evaluate based on two opinions: cultural and globalization perspectives. On the one hand, every language gives a unique view and a rich cultural heritage. Languages are not only tools for communication but also have historical values and national and cultural identities. We believe that language and linguistic diversity enriches human culture and intellectual life. For example, Indonesia is an archipelago country in which each island and region has a local language that came from their ancestors, which has historical values for the local people. Nonetheless, this country has Bahasa, which is their mother tongue, unifying the nation’s language and culture. The extinction of a language will cause a unique perspective on the world, along with knowledge and cultural expressions. On the other hand, the globalization era takes advantage of limited languages in global interactions, specifically for business, trade, politics, and diplomacy purposes. This consideration states that simplified languages could enhance global communication efficiency and reduce language barriers. For instance, the United Nations (UN) only uses six official languages which are used in meetings and documents. The effectiveness of international languages, such as English, in facilitating global interactions supports this perspective. In conclusion, while the simplification of languages might offer some practical implications in global communication, we should also consider the effects of some languages being passed out. The loss of languages will be significant to intellectual and cultural expressions. Therefore, it is essential to create a balance between preserving cultural diversities and embracing global perspectives.