Fewer schools require school children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Lesser number of schools allows school children to learn and develop their handwritting skills. This essay believes that the demerits outweighs the merits as lesser number of children will be able to read and write in their later age. Firstly, it has been observed that most schools no longer aim at ensuring that pupils and students are sound in their writting skills, as they concentrate mainly on just teaching them randomly, without putting full efforts to ensure that their students are sound in their writting skills. This tends to produce students who can not write and read even later years. For instance, in some states in Nigeria,it has been observed that even high school graduates cannot write and read effectively, as this is the result of bad teaching background from the school they attended. Moreover, many schools now base their teachings on extra curriculum activities. Activities such as music class, drama classes, excursion, nutrition class and so on, forgetting the basic teachings which should be given to these children,starting from guiding and teaching them how to develop their writting skills. All these leads to production of half baked school graduates who can not defend themselves outside. A plain example is the current state of the country's organisation where we have graduates who can not defend their certificates. In conclusion, it has been observed that majority of schools are no longer interested in developing their students hand writting skills. This has led to graduates who can not write and read, and also graduates who can not defend their gotten certificate, leading to a bad state of the country.