Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult such as the Sahara desert or Antarctic. what are the benefits and disadvantage for tourist who visits such places?

Nowadays, increasingly more tourists visit areas with hostile conditions. In this essay, I will explain the advantages and disadvantages of travelling to such remote places. To begin with, getting to experience a completely opposite area to what you are used to in your daily life can be highly fulfilling. It is this sense of curiosity that keeps most of us full of energy. Additionally, seeing other cultures and ways of living can be an excellent way to open your mind and be more tolerant towards others. For instance, these days, youths seem to be considerably more informed and respectful of other religions, genders and sexual preferences than in the past. That might be closely related to the fact that travelling and immersing in other cultures, through programmes such as Erasmus, is much more common. However, there are also disadvantages to going to a place with an extreme climate. Firstly, the body needs to quickly adapt to an unknown environment. That is to say, no vaccines or training can guarantee that your immune system will not react negatively to a specific set of conditions. Secondly, trips to challenging areas require a team of local people who can guide the visitors, which is normally quite expensive. Lastly, elderly people and children might not be welcome since extremely cold or hot places tend to involve higher health risks to them. In conclusion, while visiting areas with extreme weather can be culturally enriching and open your eyes to new worlds, it can also entail health risks. It is clear that, in order to travel to such remote places, people should be trained and go through health tests, as well as plan a suitable itinerary.