Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to ongoing changes and shortages in the labour market, some contend that the vast majority of funding for tertiary education should be put into practical courses rather than academic ones. Despite strong arguments to support this, I can only agree with this to some extent. The push on a global scale to get more graduates with university degrees has led to a lack of manual workers such as plumbers and electricians and an excess of white-collar workers. As a result of this, skilled tradespeople can earn much higher wages than in the past whereas university graduates are leaving university with huge debts from student loans. Recently, it was reported that 1000 people applied for one job in a restaurant and many of the applicants were graduates. Having a degree, therefore, does not necessarily lead to a well-paid, high-flying job. Nevertheless, for some fields such as medicine or education, an academic university education is a prerequisite. Worryingly, the number of doctors in undergraduate training is dropping at an alarming rate and this will lead to a scarcity of GPs and surgeons in the near future. To combat this, there needs to be more investment in secondary and further education to try to encourage more school leavers to take this career path. In conclusion, although funding for vocational training is a must, this should not be at the expense of academic education. Despite the threat of a worldwide economic recession, funding in all aspects of education needs to be a priority and it should be allocated to vocational and academic courses on an equal basis.