Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is usually said that circumstances and our perspective of the circumstances have a huge impact on our behaviour. There is no shortage of the debate on whether people should accept an uncomfortable situation or they should make it better, The argument is both agreed upon and disagreed with by many. The two sides of this statement will be thoroughly analyzed and discussed in the following essay, before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, if we avoid facing the music, the situation gets worse. Take my case for example. When I was a university student, although I liked studying French I could not get a good degree in the French class. I was always disappointed when the exam result came back which was worse than I had expected. Gradually, I refused to accept reality and started procrastinating a lot. Consequently, when I took the last exam at the end of the semester, I failed. Had I faced my unsatisfied situation properly, I would have made an effort to reverse the situation, yet I didn't unfortunately. Hence, first of all, people need to understand clearly where they are, secondly consider what is the reason for the unacceptable situation, and then are able to figure out how to make their position better. Nevertheless, since embracing the unsatisfactory reality is always difficult, it may cause depression. For example, I read an article about the strong link between positive behaviour and work performance. According to the study, it is proved that some people who think optimistically achieved a 15% better performance than others who are apt to think negatively. Moreover, the more seriously people think about their current situation which is relatively unacceptable for them, the more likely they will become depressed, and then the situation gets worse and worse. In conclusion, admitting the bad situation is not completely suggestible. In order to improve the situation, the most substantial thing is to be optimistic and to be confident to a certain extent. To summarize, both sides of the statement concerning the prospect of a bad situation have strong support. However, after a thorough analysis of the two sides, it is clear that the idea of embracing an uncomfortable situation is not completely supported. It is therefore predicted that the adverse effects of the debate over the recognition of an unsatisfied circumstance will always be greater than the positive effects, and because of this, I believe people ought to think positively and try their best to improve the situation constantly.