The internet has changed the way we interact with each other now compared to in the past. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the 21st century, the internet has become the fastest means of communication. Since its introduction, our methods of interacting with each other has taken a turn. In this essay, I will discuss its benefits and highlight its drawbacks. There are mainly two ways in which the internet has altered the way we related to each other. Firstly, messages are conveyed virtually more than face-to-face. This change is observed in about 95% of our daily interactions, with students and clients opting for online classes and meetings respectively rather than the typical class lessons. Secondly, connections are closer than ever now as people communicate using cell phones instead of traveling distance to physically hold conversations with loved ones, as done in the past. This opens room for daily updates which in return, strengthens bonds. Even though the internet has benefits, the disadvantages cannot be overlooked. People have loss the art of in person social interactions. They find themselves anxious or lacking the coordination to hold a conversation with family, friends or even acquittances. Also, a downward trend in family time has been recorded as kids are glued to their mobiles all day playing online games or chatting. This has really affected meaningful interactions in the family as well as relationships. In conclusion, although the internet has improved interactions between individuals, the frawbacks cannot be ignorned. And in my view, in as much as it is a tool of importance, in this day and age, proper boundaries should be set to prioritise meaningful connections as soon of them cannot be replaced.