Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public libraries are considered to be no longer worth maintaining due to being replaced by digital technologies. I completely disagree with this view because they not only provide the access to reputable sources of information but also serve for society. First, maintaining public libraries can provide the community with access to reputable sources of info, which is increasingly recognized as essential in today’s society. Nowadays, due to a large flow of information over which there is no control, people can hardly manage to find relevant and truthful data among fake and outdated news on the Internet. This leads to the difficulty of finding appropriate info among the number of dubious materials while in libraries, all the materials undergo a rigorous seleсtion. By preserving the athenaeum and giving the community an opportunity to find reliable information, the government helps to create an educated civilization. Moreover public educational institutions are designed to serve the public, especially the most vulnerable part of the population as immigrants, prisoners, or homeless people. By and large, these people do not have any computer technologies, so they need other ways to get info, one of which is to visit a public library. In addition, a socially unprotected person can get support and help within the walls of the library, such as different training, free internet access, and job search assistance. For instance, if an incarcerated man regularly visits the jail library, he might change his surroundings and views, which leads to more qualitative inclusion in the community after his release. In conclusion, I believe that public athenaeums are worth maintaining as they are irreplaceable resources and intended for everybody from different statuses to encourage the value of reading.