In the past, most people spent their entire career working for one company, whereas people nowadays move from one job to another. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Which do you think is better?

Changing between jobs has become a common practice in the labour market. While a few years ago, people dedicated all their lives to the same organization and tried to climb the ladder, new generations pursue new opportunities changing their workplaces on a regular basis. I think there are benefits and drawbacks to this practice, but I believe this suppose a problem for the companies if it is not controlled. On the one hand, the main advantage of this practice is for workers who change to another cooperative. Sometimes people who try to improve their salaries and responsibilities found that growing inside their current community is impossible or could take them a lot of time. Therefore, they start to search for opportunities abroad. Other associations will offer them a better salary, and better conditions that they have. For example, a junior project manager, who just received his PMP certification, will search to grow as a senior project manager. If his current party does not offer this position or they have no vacancies, he will be forced to explore the labour market. In the end, he will find a better opportunity, and he will be able to improve his position as a senior project manager at another company. On the other hand, this supposes a big problem for the companies because they lose their know-how. With more changes in their workers, losing knowledge costs enterprises huge amounts of money. Teaching a new employee to do the work as the community wants to, could be taking at least a year. Also, this learning costs the company a salary and a lack of efficiency in the first months. For instance, a senior consultant who decided to leave the club after a few years, will be very difficult to replace, moreover, he will bring his knowledge to the other group that might be a competitor. In conclusion, this new phenomenon of the quick change of work from the employees brings advantages for the individual but could bring serious problems for the party they are leaving. Thus, in the club, having programs for promotions and offering better conditions than the competitors is becoming a must, if they do not want to lose their workers, and keep their advantages.