In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Different cultures have their personal ways of encouraging children. One of the comments is the amount of effort they put in will be paid off in the future. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this kind of encouragement. To begin with, one of the advantages of this inspiration is that children are more motivated to learn more. This comment became moral to them and reminded themselves to be positive. For example, a handful of children will face failure when they are doing studies or even playing sports. The messages help them to not give up easily and continue to move on with their achievements. Besides that, the encouragement helps the children to explore more. As they continue to work harder or do some research, they could find other pathways to succeed in their dreams. For example, children might find other interests while exploring different things and these interests bring new talents in future. Hence, the comments give the children to do more research and have the possibility to find new talents. On the other hand, it is undeniable that this kind of advantage has its own disadvantages. One of the reasons is that children have a chance of demotivation. When they faced failure, they could use it as an excuse and easily give up. For example, if the children find out that they could not move forward, they might blame themselves for not trying harder and stop giving the effort to be successful. Thus, this simple comment could be a reason to use it as an excuse for failure. Also, children are not certain about how hard they should do. There is no guideline to achieve their goals and hence, they have a possibility of feeling high pressure. For example, some of the dreams need support from their parents such as financial issues, however, children are unsure about these problems and concluded as their fault to fail the achievement. Therefore, In conclusion, although encouraging comments give motivation to the children, their parents also support their kids and show some guidelines to make their children successful.