For centuries, important parts of education have remained, such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made us a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Historically, being able to read, write and numerate was considered a major part of the educational process. Since the development of the internet, many people believe that computer literacy must be included. I would support this opinion as I consider strong computer skills to be extremely beneficial in the modern world. These skills can be used for both educational and work purposes. The first benefit of computer knowledge is access to education. Online studying has become a very popular alternative to the mainstream studying. Many universities these days provide courses, which can be studied entirely through the internet. For example, The University of Aberdeen has established an online school called Rowetta College where people from all over the world have studied numerous disciplines including engineering and health sciences. In brief, being an experienced PC user means an opportunity to study online away from the place you live. The second benefit of being tech-savvy is the possibility to work remotely. Working from home is a very popular trend nowadays. Many employers offer this format of work in search of qualified specialists. For instance, IT specialists are not tied to a specific location if they have access to the internet and consequently can decide, where they want to live. In short, remote working is only possible if professionals are technically literate. In conclusion, although, fundamental skills such as reading, writing and maths are vital in modern society, the importance of acquiring computer -based skills is equal. In my view, computer literacy is going to be the most required skill in the near future.