Why your past academic performance may not be reflective of your ability?

In Asian culture, academic performance is one of the most valued, and this is also a major aspect to evaluate the student. Therefore, as a student who comes from Asia, I always do my best in every class that I attend. Through all efforts that I did, I gained my GPA from the previous college 3.9. Moreover, I have earned English Division Award nominated by my professors. Based on accomplishments, it indicates that I am a hard-working student who cares about academic and rigorous attention to and invests outstanding contribution to aim to achieve my objective. However, I believe that past academic performance does not reflect all the abilities that an individual has. The GPA represents the ability to comprehend and attitude in class. However, they are hard to depict the ability of a student. Furthermore, students are influenced by the variable factors that impact their grades. Especially in the COVID period, I am one of the students who have the most experience with online classes. I found many obstacles and difficulties such as lacking interaction when studying online. Thus, I recognize more manifest that the skills used in life outside of the classes are also vital. Hence, I am trying to attempt to improve myself by gaining new skills that will be significantly helpful for my future career paths as time management, communication skill, and other language. I take advantage of all the possibilities and benefits of the internet. I also improve my skill to solve problems by calming and viewing the problems from many points of view. In addition, thanks to COVID, I recognized how quickly I could adapt to the new format and environment when moving online and in other unexpected situations. I also acquired great experiences helping other students when I was an accounting tutor in college both online and in-person. Therefore, I believe that all my proficiency cannot expose only by only academic performance.