The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Some people believe that with the development of tourism English will become the only language in the world. However, having one language in the world has both advantages and disadvantages and this essay will shed some light some light on both views. When considering the advantages, having one global language will make communication easy among different nations and ethnicity as there will be no language barriers barriar. To exemplify, currently it is difficult for English speaking tourists to travel and explore non english speaking countries such as Sri lanka because of the language barriar. As a result, lot of tourist scams will happen. But if all the countries in the world only speak English the tourists will become more comfortable and safe when travelling overseas. Moreover, ability to speak english fluently will create more opportunities in both academic and corporate world. To exemplify, students travelling overseas to pursuate higher education should complete english exams. While those who have better knowledge in English could get through the exam easilly it is difficult for students with less english knowledge. If all the countries speak more students will get the opportunity to travel abroad. On the other hand, having only one global language has its own disadvantages. A countrys' culture in connected with its local language and a person is identified from the language they speak. For instance, Sri Lanka is the only country speaking Sinhala. When the local language is not used anymore the history and the culture will fade away. The main objective of travelling is to experience different cultures. Thus if the world use only English the toursists will not be able to experience that as the all countries will become a single nation with no historical value. In conclusion, having one global language has its own advantages such as increase in tourism and it also has several disadvantages such as loosing the cultural and historical value.