Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

It is usually said that music is one of the cultural forms which people all over the world can share freely. There is no shortage of debate on whether music is an effective way to bring people together. I completely agree with the opinion that music is beneficial for this point. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. Firstly, when we listen to songs, language is not a burden anymore to communicate with others. Take my case for example. When I was a university student, I went abroad to study English. As I was not able to speak English fluently at that time, I struggled from making friends in the classroom. One day, a girl who is from Thailand stood in front of me and asked me about Kiroro, which was the most famous girls' band in Japan. She said that she was a huge fan of the group, and hence she wanted to talk about it with me, who should be familiar with it. Even though we came from radically different backgrounds, we hit it off well immediately, and now we still keep in touch quite often. Had there been no such a common topic between me and her, we would have not become best friends. In my view consequently, music is the best method as an icebreaker. Secondly, songs usually resonate with people who are in different age groups. For instance, one of the Japanese popular songs Sukiyaki was composted in 1980. The main theme of the song is an appreciation for our life and hope for a peaceful world. Even though it was created decades ago, many young people admire this song because they share the same spirit as the song expresses. Just the other day, I saw young generations and the elder singing the song at karaoke box together. In conclusion, songs can be accepted by all generations, no matter when it was created, and then it is an absolutely useful way to socialize. To summarize, music is beneficial for those who have different backgrounds to share a moment and to become closer. After a thorough analysis of the statement, it is clear that the argument that music can bridge peoples is completely supported. It is therefore predicted that music is a practical method to connect different types of people and because of this, I am in support of the opinion.