The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many individuals argue that in order to limit the occurrences of internet crime and keep users safe, the government should check internet usage. I completely agree that web usage should be restricted as this will drastically reduce incidences of fraud and greatly protect the type of content which children are exposed to. An important reason to limit internet usage is because it will, to a large extent, decrease incidences of online fraud. Presently, in many countries, since the use of the web is not censored, many criminal minded individuals create malicious websites that can collect the private information of unsuspecting Iiternet users and use these to obtain their bank details and subsequently defraud them. If the government puts a check on majority of these websites, the number of cyber crimes will reduce, and the arrests and consequent punishment of the perpetrators of these acts will serve as a deterrent to others. A good number of countries such as Saudi Arabia, for example, have already created these internet inhibitions which ensure that only authorized institutions can have access to people's bank details because all phishing websites are monitored and shut down. Hence, their citizens are able to use the internet safely. In addition, controlling internet usage can prevent impressionable young children from being exposed to dangerous online content. Pornography is an enormous problem these days and has ruined the lives of many younglings because they try to experiment with information gotten from websites which contain these potentially destructive illicit materials. For this reason, the government should ensure that anyone who requests access to these websites must provide a valid identity card to show that they are adults. A good example of countries with such restrictions is India. As a result, young people in this country experience a more wholesome and untainted childhood. In conclusion, it is imperative that internet usage is restricted by the authorities in order to limit the incidences of web-based criminal activities and protect the kind of content that children consume.