It has been argued that giving gifts to friends and family should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

What to give on a special occasion is a tricky question. Sometimes people decide to give a gift that they think is special, but the receiver may not need it or its like. This case supposes a waste of money; therefore, some people think offering a gift should not be promoted. I disagree with this statement because there are useful presents, and also you can always give a gift voucher. On the one hand, if who brings the present knows it very well the other person, he will give a useful gift. In fact, if they know each other for a long time, they will know what they want or what they need. For example, if a person is searching for a gift for a friend who plays tennis, and he needs a pair of shoes, this person will search for a good pair of sneakers at the tennis store. His friend will be happy due to the fact that he gave him what he needed. In this case, giving a gift is an excellent option, and the money invested will not be wasted. On the other hand, there are gift vouchers that help people to bring something useful for the receiver. This could be a good solution in case the person does not know very well the other one. People only need to know in general what their friends or familiars like to wear, and so, they will buy a gift voucher from this specific store. In this case, it will be like giving money but with more care, and it will be a useful present for the receiver. In conclusion, giving a gift is a good way to show love and empathy. In my opinion, if the person knows very well the other, a specific gift could be a success, but if the person does not know the other very well, he can always bring a gift voucher.