In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. why might this be the case? do you think this is a posetive or negative situation.

Owning a home can be a very expensive and burdensome process, however, people still prefer buying their own house instead of renting one in some countries. In this essay, I will explore the reasons why people choose to buy a house rather than rent one. I think absolute preference for buying over renting causes a negative impact on the society. One of the reasons why in some countries people would prefer house ownership is because it shows stronger economic power. First, the housing price is high, take Taipei, Taiwan as an example, it will take 100 years for someone with a medium salary to save enough money to be able to purchase one. Therefore, the ability to own a house demonstrates an exceptional ability to earn more than average people. Also, it shows the ability to provide food and shelter for a family. Second, since house ownership demonstrates above-average abilities, in some cultures, house ownership becomes a criterion for marriage. I think the absolute preference for owning a house over renting causes a negative impact on society. It drives the real estate price unreasonably high due to demand and supply. Since people naturally want to gain better societal status by showing they have above-average abilities, everyone would want to buy a house. However, the land is always limited to building house, as the demand increases, same as the housing price. This preference also pressures young people to bear the unnecessary burden to buy a house in order to get married even if this pressure could eventually result in unhappy marriages. Overall, house ownership shows a better societal status and stronger economic power in some cultures which motivate house ownership. I think this preference produces a negative impact on society and should be corrected.