The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber-crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The advent of the internet has shown a propagation of online hijacking in recent times. The administrative authorities of a nation should reinforce stringent internet regulations in order to improve cybersecurity and diminish internet crimes. This discourse will expatiate credible points on why I strongly believe the government should impose control regulations to curb the effects of cyber insecurity. A primary reason why I believe the government should control internet usage is in order to mitigate the effect of online hacking. In other words, when people are connected to the internet, there are a plethora of fraudulent websites which demand for their personal credit card details. Moreover, these websites lure users to disclose sensitive information because of the promises of winning huge sums of money. For instance, a report published by the Cameroon post newspaper depicts 85% of Cameroonians who were victims of such internet scamming. Therefore, the government should to a greater extent implement measures that would override such fraudulent online activities. Furthermore, children are vulnerable to violence and pornography if the state does not control the contents which are made available to them. To elucidate further, some information portrayed online need to be scrutinised in order to protect kids from accessing them. Some of these websites depict violence which has a detrimental impact on the development of children. A good illustration can be seen by the Canadian government that had to impose sanctions on a gaming website that showed games like "the grand theft" which derailed teenagers into becoming irresponsible citizens of the nation. Hence, implementing strict internet regulations goes a long way to curbing domestic violence which might become a threat to national security. In conclusion, I vehemently agree with the fact that government officials, should regulate internet usage in order to hinder online fraud and to diminish the propagation of domestic violence.