In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that both spouses should work to subside. In my opinion, nowadays, women and men have a responsibility to make a high quality of life for the family. These days, most people around the world have increasingly been big fans of equality of gender, and all individuals have a right to work and be independent. In many developing countries, some women are not allowed to work. Their husbands believe that they should stay at home to bring up children and do household chores. It will bring about some consequences for females. Since they cannot work in their favourite fields as well as do not have an active social life, females may become depressed and isolated. Their relationship with their children is affected negatively. For instance, if their children make a mistake, they may lose their temper and patience easily and punish them physically. In addition, when both parents work, household expenditures will be afforded easily without being under financial pressure in tough times. For example, if one of the spouses loses his job, they can earn a living. Therefore, they are not worried about the future. Moreover, it is more likely that they could save more money monthly, and provide better facilities for themselves and their children, like a convenient and spacious house or a new brand car. To sum up, I agree that both spouses should strive to provide a high standard of living in order to have a high quality of life and create a close-knit family.