Memorization of information by frequent repetition, namely rote learning, plays a role in many education systems. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays rote learning plays a role in the education system as students memorise the information in order to pass the examinations. However, this method of learning has both advantages and disadvantages and this essay will clarify whether advantages outweigh disavntages. Firstly, it is common for the pupils nowadays to pass the examinations by memorising the data. This technique will provide opportunity to large number of students to get through exams as some are not very talented in creative and crytical thinking. For instance, if the students have the ability to memorise the information he/ she has the ability to pass the exam without any difficulty. On the other hand, rote learning has its own disadvantages. In order to use this technique the questions of tests should be directly from the text and if there some ammendments done, the pupils will not be able to answer the questions. Moreover, by frequently repiting reciting and memorising the information will retard the development creative and analytical thinking of students. For instance, the pupils will only be able to succeed in limited subjects such as Science and history but they will not be able to do artistic subjects. Memorising of information will loose the value of learning becasue eventhough the students passed the exams they will not have general knowledge or the ability to apply theory to a different scenario. To summarise things up, retro learning is a common technique used in the education system nowadays. After a thorough analysis of this aspect it is clear that the disadvantages of retro learning outweigh the advantages.