Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Due to the advent of technology, some of these youngsters make use of their smartphones for hours daily. Although, this is mainly because of the study they engaged in with their gadgets, I believe it is a negative development because it can cause problems for the eyesight. To begin with, recently the younger generations download most of their study guides from the internet to their mobiles. They are able to access these journals by surfing the internet which led to spending hours to locate a reliable source and also, reading with gadgets are cheaper compared to handout purchase. For example, a colleague of mine in Nigeria, who got a tablet for her child to operate as a study guide for memorization of the alphabet which takes a longer time for the child to learn with the tab. It is evident that the child will spend more time on their smartphone. Nevertheless, I believe it is a negative trend because it can cause poor sight. The reflection of light from the phone and longer hours spent could strain the eye nerve which helps in transmitting images to the brain for interpretation. If the optic nerve has been affected it causes poor visualization which can result in the use of eye aids at a tender age and expenses on the hospital bills. For instance, in Lagoon clinic in Nigeria, the majority of the clients who attended their clinic were noticed to be children who spent more durations on their devices to read. In conclusion, the young ones spent a long time on their devices due to studying, however I believe it is a negative impact because it can lead to poor vision.