Many students find it difficult to pay attention at school. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this?

Most students experience difficulty concentrating during teachings at school which may result from distractions by external stimuli and disorganization from the institution. However, this can be tackled by the removal of these factors and proper planning. Firstly, disturbance that arises outside the teaching and learning process such as the buzzing sounds of mobile phones, background noise from the premises and nearby market or road greatly affect the attention of students negatively. A student in a classroom for instance, who is constantly getting notifications from social platforms will be forced to read the messages thereby deviating his focus from what is being taught. Secondly, poor planning of lecture periods by educational institutions can cause brain fatigue making it hard to fully concentrate. Giving example of science students studying Further mathematics for about an hour in the afternoon which is a demanding course and they may be exhausted and bored during the teaching. Thus, these external influences and inappropriate organization are some of the backings behind deficit attention at school. Furthermore, this problem can be dealt with by the removal or reduction of these distractors and efficient scheduling of lecture periods. Educational facilities should be sited in a serene environment to curb the effect of noise pollution, additionally rules prohibiting learners from going into classroom with mobile gadgets should be enforced to reduce possible distractions that may arise from its usage. Also, timetable need to be adequately developed giving time for brain breaks and setting more demanding subjects in the early hours of the day when students are eager and ready for assimilation, correspondingly the duration of each course should suite the comprehension ability of the students to avoid poor concentration and retention. In conclusion, students have problem focusing in school due to external influences and poorly planned lecture schedules and these can be handled by minimizing these stimuli and better organization of lectures.