Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

Many people argue that formal examinations are a far better way than practical assessments to judge a student ’s performance. I disagree with this statement to a large extent as regular coursework and projects completely assess student ’s knowledge and creativity at various levels Assessing students routinely is a more effective way than conducting yearly exams. To begin with, many students perform far better in their regular classes but unfortunately lack a pen and paper test. For instance, a brilliant student may be unable to perform to the best of his ability because of ill health. This will eventually hurt his confidence largely and can affect his performance in further exams too. Therefore, assessing the knowledge of a student on the basis of their performance in annual exams alone is not a brilliant idea. Conversely, there are those who insist that the traditional way of conducting exams judges a student ’s ability effectively. They assert that exam conducting bodies meticulously organise the papers and thus every student has an equal opportunity to show their mettle in a three-hour exam. While this may be true to a certain extent, I believe that these three hours are not enough to test students ’ hard work and the tremendous efforts they put in throughout the year. More crucially, these exams do not assess students on their soft skills such as teamwork, communication skills and even do not take into account factors like discipline and punctuality. On the other hand, continuous assessment allows teachers to see whether students are progressing. Making them do projects and other activities is also a great way to ensure that they are applying the knowledge they learned in the classroom. To conclude, although conducting exams in a structured way can tell students performance in a span of three hours, these exams do not take into account specific situations that might affect a student from performing to the best of their ability. Hence, in my opinion, continuous assessment is a better way to measure the progress of students.