Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree.?

Many assume that smartphones have undermined social interaction among people these days, but others think this device has a positive side. In my opinion, I don't think smartphones are destroying our communication because of the diversity of their existential advantages. On the one hand, smartphones decrease face-to-face interaction which means that there are not as many people today who meet and talk in person. For example, most coffee shops are filled with friends and families using their phones and not talking to each other. The result of this phenomenon is that people not only lose interest in harmonizing with their interlocutors but also do not find joy in their daily conversations. Researchers have shown that most people today would love spending most of their time utilizing phones rather than talking or meeting with friends. On the other hand, smartphones are famous for their versatility in helping humans make contact with each other better. There is the fact that people today can easily take advantage of social media such as Facebook, and Twitter to start online dating with friends, join many chat groups, and make plans to hang out in person. Moreover, in this cruel pandemic with constant lockdown, people can leverage mobile phones and online platforms to keep in touch and maintain their existential relationships. In conclusion, smartphones have not demolished social intercourse among people because it gives people many new opportunities to connect with others, which did not exist in the past. Thus, everyone should find a good way to use their phones to stay in touch with friends and family instead of spending time letting themself be shacked in their room