Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. So then it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that reading newspapers and watching news programs on television is a waste of time since news seems to be irrelevant to human daily lives. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this view as I strongly argue that news plays a vital role in people ’s lives these days. First and foremost, I hold a firm belief that news is of vital importance in enhancing human beings’ living standards. This is because by keeping updated with the latest information, people can broaden their knowledge in many life aspects. This can be exemplified by some news programs about tips to have a healthy lifestyle. By watching such programs or reading healthcare articles, modern people can be aware of their unhealthy lifestyle, then form the right attitude towards a healthier way of life and ultimately lead a better life to maintain good physical and mental health. Besides, it is undeniable that news provides useful information for humans to become more proactive in dealing with unexpected situations on a daily basis. On a smaller scale, news about weather forecasts, for instance, can allow people to be well-prepared with raincoats or umbrellas before going out in order not to get wet and sick afterwards. Furthermore, news can also be of vital importance in more serious cases like the COVID-19 pandemic. In fact, thanks to the spreading power of news media, Vietnamese people can quickly have aware of the severity of the pandemic, so they take immediate actions to protect themselves and their family members from contagious risks by methods given on newspapers or TV news programs. As a result, Vietnam can fight against the COVID successfully and save many lives from death. In conclusion, on account of the aforementioned reasons, I hold an argument that the role of news media in people ’s daily lives is undoubtedly essential. It is highly recommended that people should utilize the news to make their life better and more connected to current affairs.