Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There has been controversy about whether the public amenities should be completely free of charge to the citizens in vast major cities. Although the authority of the country will have to face certain problems with the maintenance of vehicles, it would encourage the use of public services and eliminate the air pollution among the citizens of the nation. First, for the advantages, the authority does not charge for using the public amenities, such as buses and trains,so a large part of the civilians will get motivated to take this travelling mode. Furthermore, the traffic congestion issue on the road would be significantly reduced to an acceptable level. For instance, in Hong Kong, and New York, a major part of the population commuting to their workplace by using private vehicles, which enhanced the congestion level on the road. By implementing this policy, the current situation can be tackled to an acceptable level. On the other hand, for the disadvantages, the current situation causes some trouble for the administration. Due to the lack of funds, the authorities are not capable to improve the maintenance of transportation facilities, because most of the income from transportation came from selling the tickets, which are used to modify and upgrade the transport modes. As a result, free accessibility to use of these services means no income for the transportation department. Consequently, the government suffers from enormous losses because of this policy. In conclusion, there is a part of citizens who agree with this statement. Despite having their agreement to promote this commuting mode, the potential cost and risks to the government are undeniable.