The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the lack of accommodations in metropolitans can result in serious impacts and in order to tackle those problems, government action is the only choice. In my opinion, I totally agree with the statement for the following reasons. To start with, many people suppose that individuals can offer aid by creating and setting up their own houses which are fully attached with amenities. However, I believe this is a short-sighted view. To make this clear, a person can afford the money to purchase or even construct a shelter to live in but they can not guarantee the quality of the materials for the structures. For instance, in 2019, a family consisting of 5 members in a small village of Hokkaido - Japan managed to create a house made of bricks and woods on their own. Even though it was well-designed with plenty of decorations and furniture, eventually the house collapsed and took away the lives of the whole family. Due to their deaths, the police found out that the system of their house was not strong enough to handle and resulting in a tragedy. Thus, there is a high risky chance to deal with this problem alone. On the other hand, I strongly believe that the solutions to this issue could be undertaken by the government. The authorities always prior the safety of citizens first so they often provide the basic facilities for them. To address this, many high-rise blocks, skyscrapers,...etc which solve people’s housing have been completed. One of the best examples of this would be in the USA, the government has witnessed the booming population and responded to the inhabitants by devising plans to make buildings that could house people. Additionally, those buildings can ease the traffic for the commuters and facilitate the community’s lives but also the most important thing is that still remains the quality of the structures. Besides, by resolving all the housing issues, more and more people will definitely move in from the urban areas to seek opportunities. Therefore, it is likely to be beneficial for the dwellers through the action of the government. In conclusion, after the aforementioned reasons, it is no doubt that the government can ensure the quality of people’s housing and surely can enhance it.