People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that learning literature is not beneficial for high school students. In my opinion, this is a valid viewpoint because such a student has more important tasks on their priority list, such as successfully entering a university, whereas novels and poems can become a serious distraction. High school is a crucial period for most people, as it signifies the transition from teenage years into adulthood. Therefore, every student must try hard to make the best usage of their time, whether this is preparing for higher education or acquiring new skills for future employment. Studying literature, on the other hand, is often an extremely time-consuming activity, which may distract students from their main targets. Many classic books, such as “War and Peace” by Lev Tolstoy, are too voluminous and can take months to finish, despite their great contents. The more sensible way to spend this time is by learning STEM subjects, thus enabling the student to accomplish their most immediate goals. Of course, it is true that reading novels and poems can greatly enrich our lives. Not only does literature help to develop our emotional intelligence, but it also offers a number of other tangential benefits like expanding our vocabulary. However, none of these advantages are time-bound, meaning students can study this subject later, not necessarily while at high school when time is limited. In conclusion, while I acknowledge the merits of learning literature, my firm belief is that a high school student should busy themselves with more urgent matters, namely applying for university and/or securing a stable job. (260 words)