All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this, and how could it be tackled?

In recent years, along with the increase in disposable income, there are more and more people suffering from obesity and other health problems because of their unhealthy diets. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons behind it and how it can be improved. Apparently, the growing popularity of fast- food culture, as well as people's preferences contribute to such a crisis. The popping up of fast- food restaurants such as McDonald's and Burger King has gradually changed people's diet habits. Due to the bombardment of advertisements and TV commercials, many children abandoned traditional home-prepared food and turn to junk food including chips and hamburgers on a daily basis. An unbalanced diet combined with an excessive intake of protein and fat has significantly increased the average weight of young children and exacerbated the overweight problems among youngsters. To solve this problem, scientists have proposed a couple of suggestions. For instance, the government should impose laws to restrict the propaganda from fast- food chain restaurants as it will reduce children's exposure to fast food. Likewise, it is necessary to supervise the content of advertisements and remove statements that encourage people to buy unhealthy food. More importantly, many health specialists call for action from schools to set up exercise courses for students. Studies reveal that participating in sports exercises can reduce the likelihood of obesity. Children may become more energetic, slim and healthy.  In conclusion, the reason for obesity problems varies. To solve this problem, both local officials and schools should extend their hands and help children and adults aware of the negative impacts of fast food.