Some people believe that employees should stay in the same job for the rest of their lives. Others think they should switch jobs at least once during their career. To what extent do you agree / disagree?

Practice makes perfect, some say that staying in the same occupation for our whole life is the best way to excel in it, while some say switching jobs allows us to find where we suit the best. In my opinion, we should not be fearful of changes, hence changing to a new work may be beneficial. To begin with, our ability increases along with our experience, the more frequent we practice, the better we become. One example would be working as a cashier, when we first take up the role as a cashier, it is common to make mistakes, such as inputting the price of a product wrong. Yet, as we become more experienced, we will become familiar with the procedures and a professional cashier. Furthermore, keeping the same job allows us to get promoted and earn a higher salary, for instance from a manager of the sales team, to the manager of the marketing department. However, some argue that switching jobs allow us to widen our horizons, from working as an office worker to a tattooist, the change provides us with the opportunity to experience a new working environment as well as collaborate with new people. This is beneficial as it improves one's ability to adapt. Nevertheless, if we only stay in our comfort zone, we will never know what we actually are good at. Suppose that you have been working as a teacher for 10 years, but you still find it difficult to speak in front of your group of students, this probably suggests that you are not suitable for a career which requires you to interact with people. As a result, staying as a teacher would not be the best choice, trying jobs which demand fewer communication skills may be better. All in all, although keeping the same job for our whole life may allow a higher salary, through experiencing different careers we could better understand our strengths and weakness, as a result, take up a job which doesn't only bring us wealth, but also an environment where we enjoy.