With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Technology advancement has led to a surge in the use of soft copy material bringing about a decline in hard copy articles. Certain individuals see this trend as a welcomed development while others think otherwise. This essay will discuss the merits and drawbacks associated with this event. One of the benefits of the rise of e- books among the population is the accessibility of information. This is owing to the fact that materials needed are compressed and uploaded into cyberspace enabling easy assess for readers from different countries in their comfort zones to have it. For instance, the gifted hands of Ben Carson one of the world's most inspiring and oldest books can be read on the internet by society, so preventing people from moving places in search of hard paper. Hence, inspiring individuals to read and become updated. Secondly, the usage of online magazines has led to reduced expenses, this means one does not need to spend money buying different editions of a specific book but rather keeps updating the softcopy he or she has. This will subsequently lead to savings on the part of the reader and subsidize the exorbitant prices placed on printed publications. In contrast, health problems and disinterest are the demerits of softcopy articles. The use of these publications require electronic gadget like smartphones and computers which emits radiation from the light rays while using them, and as such expose the populace to tremendous illness like cancer and a decline in visual capacity. Therefore, this is part of the benefit accompanied by the use of printed material. Furthermore, some people dislike reading online because they already have a sentimental attachment to hardcopy books and derive joy from holding the paper. They also feel that printed papers enhance fast pace learning and have been handed over from generations and, so should be moved to their offspring to benefit from it. To illustrate, a research carried out among parents regarding their children's education revealed that they love buying books for their wards instead of giving them an android phone to read with. Hence this is why printed books cannot go into extinction. In conclusion, in as much as ebooks are effortlessly accessible and curb the rate of money spent on paper articles which are the pros of this trend, the cons being health issues and loss of interest in reading cannot be waived off.