Some people think that foreign visitors should be charged more than locals when they visit cultural and tourist attractions in a country. To what extent do you agree with this view.

It is argued that an extra charge should be attached to foreign tourists who visit monuments in other countries. I strongly disagree with this view and will further state why in this essay. To begin, an increment in the visiting fee for distant travellers has some benefits attached to it. Firstly, tourism boosts the economy of the nation because it is a valuable source of income for most countries in terms of accommodations, feeding and transportation services that will be rendered to these aliens. Moreover, foreign guests tend to spend more money when they decide to feed on their own local diet in which the monies generated can be further used to beautify and improve infrastructural facilities in the visited nation. Secondly, the cultural and historical places in the host nation make it more popular around the world. In Calabar, Nigeria, for instance, their annual festival attracts both local and international participants because of the colourful and rich activities being performed thus making them so outstanding amongst other ethnic groups in Nigeria. However, despite the above positive side, I believe that both local residents and non-residents should be levied equally as it is unfair to those coming from afar to spend their fortune, thereby leading to dissatisfaction and may also stop wealthy foreign investors from setting up business enterprises which would have served as employment opportunities for the local inhabitants. In addition, those around the vicinity where monuments are located may abuse the opportunity and will not appreciate their cultural heritage especially as they pay little or no fee to access the site In conclusion, although some people claim that abroad people should pay an increased fee than local residents, I believe that this will be unfair as it will drive away entrepreneurs and will lead to misuse of those ancient structures.