Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in classrooms. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Online learning has been taken as to substitute for traditional teaching by many educational institutions after the Covid pandemic. While there are some drawbacks, I still believe students can gain more benefits from distance learning. There are three main advantages students can receive from learning via the internet. The most important one is that online learning is time-saving and provides students more flexibility in terms of time. Especially for people who already have a full-time job, or are under the pressure of a second degree, they can choose whenever and wherever to study since all the courses are pre-recorded, and also they do not need to spend time on transportation anymore. Also, students can have more options when applying to school, and the choices are limited back in the traditional degree time. For example, students from developing and undeveloped countries can receive knowledge from world-class universities and professors. In addition, tuition fees will be more affordable for students since these schools don't need to pay the rental fee, facilities fee and other different expenses. However, there are a few disadvantages to online education. One drawback is that students will have less chance to communicate with their classmates and professors. This will lead to a lack of both communication skills and teamwork skills. Another one is that compared with the traditional physically attending class, the interesting internet may distract students who are not well self-controlled. For example, some game summer sale advertisements may pop up during the course, students might be attracted by them and press the pause button since they are not under the supervision of teachers. In conclusion, although drawbacks exist, attending online school can benefit students more.