Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be required to help with household tasks as soon as they are able to do so. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The argument on whether little ones should be expected to take part in household chores once they are able to do so is a constant one. I do agree that they should participate in all chores within their age limits. This is because these tasks beyond just doing them, inculcate some values and good habits into them, such as being responsible and detesting laziness. Some parents are of the school of thought that their young ones are still very tender and should not be required to help with some of the house tasks. For example, a four-year-old child may not be expected to dress his bed once he wakes up because he is seen to be too little to do such. As a result, so many things are done for the children by the older people around. Thus, the child grows up thinking everything should be done for him which negatively impacts him. On the other hand, for some other families where their younger ones are taught and expected to do some house chores, they learn to be responsible for themselves at an early age. For instance, my three-year-old daughter puts away her dirty clothes in a basket, folds her neat clothes correctly and makes her bed neatly. In addition, they better appreciate the efforts put in by their elders to take good care of the house. Moreover, they begin to understand the benefits of teamwork which they can apply to school tasks as well. I agree that children should be encouraged to take part in household duties within their age brackets as they always turn out better in relation to character and value building than those who do not. In conclusion, a lot of character-building, as well as positive habits, are passed across to children once they are allowed to engage in household duties. This should be greatly encouraged as doing so will in the long run make them responsible people.