In my country, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Plastic waste is an ongoing dilemma all over the world. In the Philippines, plastic containers are commonly used by food and beverages industry. In my opinion, frequent usage of these materials give more harm than benefit specifically in our environment, our health and to our economy. To begin with, the use of plastic containers are frequently seen when people order food and have it delivered to the comforts of their homes or in workplaces. This trend further accelerated at the start of the pandemic when people are prohibited outdoors. Although platics are cheap as compared to other alternatives, it is not biodegradable. It can be reused, however, studies show thay it produces toxins when heated. Plastics posses low melting point so when it is mixed with hot items, the toxins it produce from its materials can be a source of poison. Moreover, the common sight of pollution in our oceans come from plastics. More and more marine creatures are greatly affected witht he influx of plastic waste in their habitat. This is due to the scarcity of land areas for garbage disposal and as a result, people dump their wastes in open water. A documentary once showed a sea turtle having difficulty breathing due to a straw embedded in its nose. This poor and innocent creature had to bear the selfish attitude of human actions. Lastly, according to surveys, plastic packaging can lead to several economic losses. This is due to the fact that plastics are not infinitely recycled as opposed to what others believe. In fact, recycling process of these materials are very costly. Furthermore, as a result of plastic pollutions, governments have to incur costly repairs in cleaning up our marine ecosystem. In conclusion, the drawbacks of using plastic containers outweigh its benefits. It is vital for authorities to further ramp up policies on plastic usage before it givens tremendous and detrimental impact to our health, environment and our economy.