Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In this modern era, travelling to exotic destinations where difficult conditions are seen is a growing trend among people all around the world. Certain advantages and drawbacks immediately spring to mind when considering this tendency and my essay aims to shed light on them. On one hand, it is claimed that travelling broadens one ’s mind, especially the trips to less well-known areas to the majority of people. This means that the travellers to these specific attractions would be able to know more about the nature and local inhabitants there. Thanks to this experience, one's existence will be perceived from kaleidoscopic angles as culture varies from place to place. In addition, adventurers to the Sahara desert or the South Pole may appreciate the value of their life more due to a simple comparison between their current quality of life and the living conditions in these places. To illustrate, a person who only gets the chance to stay in the concrete jungle like New York or China, in which all services are carefully catered to oneself, is likely to be astonished when getting in touch with nature in areas like Mongolian hills or the Northern regions in Vietnam. Mindfulness may come as a result of this exploration. On the flip side, this tendency proposes some risks to the explorers, both physically and mentally. The first drawback is related to health issues, which are commonly seen when wayfarers first get in touch with certain local specialities or climates. Many diseases, such as monkeypox, malaria or allergies, are the potential outcome of these occurrences. Moreover, a pump of adrenaline when visiting a new place is nothing compared to the trauma one may have to tackle after the trip. Were the tourist attractions to have harsh living conditions or unbearable climate, individuals would tend to suffer from the difficulties they may have hypothetically met. In particular, voyagers from developed countries would face up to culture shock as many third -world countries do not have public restrooms or electricity to support basic needs. Although people may enjoy this bizarre situation at first, an immediate solution of going back home remains a popular choice. To sum up, an excursion has always been a powerful way to refresh the mind and physique of its participants. However, one is recommended to take into account different positives and negatives before packing their bags to make the most out of the experience.