In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by fast food. This has a negative impact on families, individuals and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the substitution of locally-made cuisine for convenient meals has a detrimental effect on a human being as an entity, as well as the citizen at large. In my opinion, I agree that this adaptation is disadvantageous. Firstly, the replacement of native dishes for packaged commodities causes several health problems. This is because the food usually contains additives, sugar, and saturated fats. They are not recommended by nutritionists or medical educators. Also, it results in unhealthy eating habits as it does not contains the right amounts of vitamins, proteins, carbohydrates and other essential nutrients which are needed to survive or stay fit. For example, when an individual consumes pizza, hamburger, or shawarma, although they might be tasty, they contain high amounts of fat that can make the individual increase in weight, which causes health challenges such as diabetes, and hypertension. Thus, it affects the quality of well-being of the nation. Secondly, the growing publicity of pre-processed snacks at the expense of native meals can decrease public awareness of the local feed and detach them from their roots. This is because homemade feed is our cultural identity when we eat them we preserve our traditions. In addition, indigenous cuisines reflect the values, beliefs, and history of the community's culture. For example, in China, their core trait is harmony. It is always being portrayed in their meals as different spicy (sour, sweet, peppery) are used to produce a delicious meal in which the flavours are blended together. Thus, enhancing people's culture. Admittedly, it is true that junk snacks are time-saving because buying groceries, cooking and cleaning up afterwards all require a lot of time. However, traditional dishes contain nutritious ingredients that boost the immune system and help individuals stay healthy. In conclusion, the less demand for traditional cuisines can result in a plethora of medical challenges and loss of ethnic diversity.