Recent advances in medical science have resulted in increased life expectancy over the past few years. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly believed that modern medical science has helped us in living a longer life,while others hold the opposite view of point. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages before forming an opinion. Advocates of this proposition believe that medical science has been revolutionised. The three principal challenges facing surgery, which were pain, infection and bleeding, have all been overcome, allowing the lives of millions to be saved. The discoveries of vaccines to deal with the great killer diseases of history also took place over the last two centuries. Probably billions of people who would have died from diseases such as smallpox, tuberculosis, diphtheria and tetanus have all been saved. In addition to this, medicine now has such an advanced knowledge of human body systems that doctors can cure or heal a wide range of ailments that would in the past have been fatal or extremely debilitating. It is also likely that the next century will see similar significant advances. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks as well. In past years there were many health conditions occurring due to side effects of antibiotics and daily usage of medicines. This is causing more physical and mental strain on many people. For example, someone got allergies or bad reactions. Moreover many individuals are getting addicted to medicines because it keeps them energised throughout the day. In conclusion,medicines are very important for the growth and development of human beings however the negative effects can be treated with more advanced research.