Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the fact that the majority of contemporary cultures are built on rules and regulations. Some individuals think that if people were allowed to do anything they wanted, society would not be able to operate. In my opinion, although this statement is valid to some extent, the legislations still do more good than harm. Obviously, the number of laws and rules make people are subjected to in most modern-day societies causes harmful problems. Nowadays, the majority of laws and regulations only benefit a small portion of society, while the legislation and rules that are meant to protect the majority continue to have an impact on them. For instance, owning a gun is prohibited in several nations, but they are unable to adequately defend themselves when a thief enters their house and tries to kill them with a lethal weapon. Therefore, sets of rules have a negative impact on dwellers. While the disadvantages of disciplines are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if its counterpart is ignored. Rules and laws exist to establish limits and encourage behavior that promotes a calm and functional community. For example, if there were no laws or norms, and thus no police to enforce those laws, then some upheaval may occur as a result of individuals trying to take advantage of the situation. This, however, would only be a short-term situation since, in my opinion, most people are kind and would eventually band together to fight those who were causing the rest of social harm, restoring peace to the world once more. Hence, disciplines and norms bring tremendously beneficial to the citizens and society. In conclusion, although there are some reasons to make several people think the drawbacks of norms and rules are harmful to humanity, the merits still overshadow its counterpart