Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

There is a tremendously controversial perspective heating up a debate about whether regulations and rules could not operate properly if people had the liberty to do whatever they desired to do. In my opinion, I am truly an advocate of this statement. Without a shadow of a doubt, laws play a paramount significant role in today's society. In this day and age, residents need to obey thoroughly and adhere to authorities' norms for their benefit, especially their safety and health. For instance, if a drunk person does not have a driver's licence and he still takes the wheel on the roads, it would be extremely dangerous and unsafe for ordinary people participating in traffic. Therefore, it is undeniable that the government should strictly impose rules and disciplines for the sake of individuals. While the significance of norms is widely acknowledged, numerous tremendous problems would linger if people ’s actions could not be under authorities' supervision by rules and regulations. Without the presence of laws, people would do whatever they want to do freely which directly makes room for criminals’ appearance. It is can be clearly seen that thefts, murders, robbers and kidnappers can be cited as some striking and astonishing examples. Hence, there would be a bunch of tremendous issues in society if laws as well as rules could not have their own functions. In conclusion, it is evident that rules and regulations are immensely indispensable in people's lives and in society and there would be innumerable constraints and huge problems if people had the freedom to do what they want to in the absence of laws.