More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

Nowadays, with the advancement of economics and schooling, more and more young folk are able to get a better literacy. And thanks to that, their ethics and knowledge level has increased a lot recently, which has urged them to help the public and communities that are in a relatively poor condition. The reason why such a phenomenon could happen is apparent and poor communities that are helped clearly benefit more. This essay is devoted to finding the reason and discussing why the communities benefit more compared with those young people that offer help. To begin with, as the economics and education are developing obviously better than before, more and more young folk especially those from wealthy countries have the access to a better education, which helps them acquire more practical knowledge and, simultaneously, makes them aware of the imbalance in the world and stimulate them to help those in relatively poorer conditions. For example, the China University student Aid education Alliance, is one of the earliest NGOs to aid education in China, their aim is to provide better education for children in poor areas. The alliance consists of mainly university students, and the number of voluntary teachers keeps increasing and has reached more than 2000. Amounts of offspring from poor areas received suitable schooling from the alliance, including Ningxia, Guangxi, Sichuan, etc. With more and more university students joining the alliance, the situation is improved and continues to be better. Secondly, since the public that is in poor conditions is improved partly by these voluntary young people, their current situation, which is a lack of literacy, and infrastructure, is now under solution. Besides, with more and more offspring in the communities getting educated, the future development of communities will be more complete. To exemplify that, Shishan, a small town in Guangdong, China, had a poor population and infrastructure construction before 2007, however, with more residents moving in and more children getting educated, Shishan has now become one of the most famous towns in China, with more than 10 primary schools, 7 secondary schools and 3 universities are constructed and come into service, not to mention police station, hospital and so on. To conclude, with young folk getting a better literacy, they have the realization that the population in poor public require needy help and they have the capability of applying their knowledge to practice. And the societies which receive help apparently benefit more since it will be able to improve their schooling level in the short term and the whole operating system in the long term.