The costs of international travel are decreasing and tourism is growing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of increasing tourism activity in different countries?

The expenses of international travel are falling and the tourism industry is increasing in various countries. The main benefits of this are economy-boosting together with more employment rates. However, the key drawbacks are the crowds and environmental damage. Economy growth is one of the most significant advantages of the tourism activity increasing. Having more tourists visiting the country can drive the economic system in both local and urban areas, therefore, the country earns more income and benefits for its locals. Furthermore, the increase of visitors from around the world results in the hiring of more workers in specific positions. For example, In Phuket, employment rates have increased every year due to the number of travellers rising. The vast positions hired are related to accommodations, restaurants and marine activities. However, the more tourists have visited the places the more crowded can be. Some countries have visiting rate of more than 10 million people, meaning that several areas can be relatively dense, especially the attractions areas and this is the consequence in bad pollution. Another disadvantage is that the environment can be destroyed because of the excessive tourism industry and activity. Deforestation is considered the primary environmental damage with the reason for extending the lands to support and accommodate the tourists. For example, in Pattaya, some of the local woods have been cut down and the place is constructed to be a tourist destination. In conclusion, the tourism activity increases as the impact on the economy improve and more employees are hired. However, the disadvantages of this case are pollution and environmental destruction.