Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued by some that educating villains while in jail plays a significant role in lowering the incidence of criminal activities. Although, lack of degree attainment is one of the contributory factors to illicit behaviours. In my opinion, I agree that training incarcerated individuals prevent recidivism. Firstly, education lessens re-offending by increasing their chances of getting employed. This is because when convicted individuals are given opportunities to acquire vocational or academic degrees in prison. They are more likely to obtain employment once they are released and this helps them have a source of living. Also, most community members tend to keep convicted individuals at arm's length they deny them job opportunity because of their criminal records, if they learn certain skills while in prison it comes handy until society understand they are a changed individual and trust them with jobs. For example, when a particular time is allocated to learning a craft in prison, upon concluding the jail term they can engage in such business. Therefore, it boosts their financial power and ability to provide for themselves without resorting to crimes. Secondly, formal learning instilled a sense of value and self-worth. In other words, if they are trained in prison they develop the right attitude towards themselves and others, this enhances their relationship with other inmates and less violence within the correctional centre. Also, after they have served their terms, and are out of prison they have a sense of empathy towards other people in the wider community and avoid causing harm to people. For example, when they are taught lessons on how to behave socially and they are made to know they are full of potential, it boosts their self-esteem and social competence. Thus, making them become a better person that avoids immorality at all cost. Admittedly, it is true that strict punishment and longer years are deterrents to felonies. However, learning opportunities should be provided to equip and develop them into good citizens. In conclusion, learning in prison is a very crucial means of increasing recidivism as it helps formerly incarcerated individuals to secure a source of livelihood and become responsible social beings.