Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmental authorities. In my opinion, properly handled, this is a sensible and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many people believe that research should be done under the control of officials and some rules have to be legislated by governments. This has some benefits and drawbacks.In my opinion,the advantages are more than disadvantages. In terms of benefits, the control of governments leads to assigning enough budgets to scientific research in different fields. For example, universities are not allowed to cut some budgets for a specific field according to their personal opinions. Therefore, there will be progress in all various fields of researches. In addition, there are some ethical issues regarding medical research like carrying out some experiments on new medications. For example, when it is necessary to test a new vaccine or medication on patients. In fact, governmental authorities legislate rules that patients have the right to be aware of such experiments. Thus, scientists cannot implement such tests without the permission of patients. However, there are some disadvantages if officials have control over scientific research. Since they are not experts in different scientific fields, it is likely that they pose wrong policies. For instance, in some religious countries, they do not allow scientists to carry out some research in genetic engineering because of controversial and ethical beliefs. In spite of the fact that development in this field may result in new treatments for some diseases. In addition, some politicians put some rules in a favour of themselves like being popular among citizens and gaining more votes to win the elections. To sum up, scientific researches under the supervision of governments have some advantages and disadvantages like supporting all scientific fields financially, and control of patients ' rights.